List and explain the four major system of land tenure in Nigeria

The four major system of land tenure in Nigeria are:
1. Communal land tenure system
2. Land tenure by inheritance
3. Leasehold system
4. Rent system

Communal land tenure system: in this system the land belongs to the community. Only members of the community can have access to the use of the land. The land is the property of the entire community. Mechanization may not be available as members may not generally agree for one person to utilize the land for agricultural purpose.
Land tenure by inheritance: this is a system whereby land is inherited from one’s parent or from generation to generation. It leads to land fragmentation, ownership can be challenged anytime. Mechanization is not possible because of small holdings.
Leasehold system: this is a system in which land is used over a stated period of time with a payment of fees. The major disadvantage of this system is that farmer cannot use the land as collateral security to obtain loan nor can he develop the land beyond the lease agreement terms.
Rental system: this is the system which involves the payment of fees or tenancy for land use over short periods (one or two growing seasons). This system affects long term planning, limits the development of the land and cannot be used as collateral security.

Post a Comment