Describe the nervous system

The nervous system is divided into the central and peripheral nervous system.
The central nervous system comprises of the brain and spinal cord; and is responsible for the control of stimuli between an animal and its environment.
The peripheral nervous system is divided into the sensory and the motor system. The sensory system is divided into the sensory neurones (comprising the spinal nerves and cranial nerves) and the sensory receptors. While the motor system comprise of the somatic nervous system and the autonomic nervous system. The somatic nervous system consist of the motor neurones (spinal and cranial nerves) while the autonomic nervous system consists the motor neurones and ganglia which comprises the sympathetic nervous system (which has the nerves) and the parasympathetic nervous system (which has both the spinal and cranial nerves).

Post a Comment